Waste Acceptance Criteria WAC

Helping you with your waste acceptance criteria.

OEMA are at the forefront of assisting you with all your waste acceptance criteria (WAC) needs and concerns.

As a waste producer, you must classify your waste as hazardous or non-hazardous and make sure it’s described (characterised) accurately. This helps you work out where you’re allowed to send waste and importantly the costs of sending it.

The Landfill Directive places controls on waste disposal. These controls include requirements to follow the waste acceptance procedures and criteria that have been agreed by the Council of the European Union and are laid out in Council Decision 2003/33/EC.

Assisting with your landfill needs.

Before a waste can be accepted at a landfill site, the landfill operator must be satisfied that the waste meets their permit conditions, the waste acceptance procedures (WAP) and waste acceptance criteria (WAC). If you decide that disposal to landfill is the best management option for your waste and OEMA can advise you on this, you must follow these procedures, or the operator may refuse to accept your waste.

The key points are:

  • Certain kinds of waste cannot be landfilled.
  • Landfills are classified according to whether they can accept hazardous, non-hazardous or inert wastes.
  • Wastes can only be accepted at a landfill if they meet the waste acceptance criteria (WAC) for that class of landfill.
  • Most wastes must be treated before you can send them to landfill.
  • There are formal processes for identifying and checking wastes you must follow before wastes can be accepted at a landfill site.

OEMA can provide you with user friendly, easy to interpret reports, to lighten the load and share the burden of this critical part of your business.

For more information,
please get in touch.

Email Us